Home / Shipping / Indian Seafarers Welfare Organization, Sea Mission International Organize Maritime Day Celebrations

Indian Seafarers Welfare Organization, Sea Mission International Organize Maritime Day Celebrations


Port Wings News Network:

The Indian Seafarers Welfare Organization and Sea Mission International  jointly organised 70th World Maritime Day celebrations in Mumbai on 22 September 2018.

Shri. Ramdas Athawale, Minister of State for social welfare and Justice, Govt. of India, graced the function as chief guest. Shri. Amithabh Kumar IRS, Addl. Director General of Shipping, Govt. of India, was the special guest and inaugurated the celebrations.

In his speech, Amithabh Kumar elaborated on the current challenges in present shipping field, the opportunities, and bright future of Indian shipping Industry and seafarers.

Captain. Prasanth Rangnekar, Chairman & Director of MASSA, Capt. Jha, Dy. Master CMMI, Capt. Goyal, CEO, K Line Ship Management, Shri. Amar Singh Thakur General Secretary, Maritime union of India, Shri. Manoj Yadav, General Secretary, Forward Seamen’s Union of India and Shri. N. Reuben Paul, Chairman of Sea Mission International graced this occasion as Guests of Honour.

The maritime experts, who were the Guests of Honour at this function, expressed their thoughts and gave their presentation on seafarers welfare issues in Indian ports.

The guests also aired their views on current challenges of Seafarers welfare and also the opportunities for bright future for Indian seafarers.

Dr. A. Babu Mailan, chairman of Indian Seafarers Welfare Organization, felicitated the chief guest, special guest and guests of honours.  Fr. A Balaswamy, Vice- Chairman, gave presentation on the function and objectives of Indian Seafarers Welfare Organization and Sea Mission International activities in India.

He stated that the Indian Seafarers welfare Organization had started with an ideology from Maritime Labour Convention 2006 to look after the welfare of seafarers on national level. There are already port welfare committees established in some major ports in India according to the guidelines of MLC 2006, Mr. N. Reuben Paul Secretary of Port Welfare Committee of Andhra Pradesh initiated to form a National Committee thus the Indian Seafarers Welfare Organization was formed and officially registered in Chennai to serve seafarers in all Indian Ports.

Dr. A. Babu Mailan himself is a Seafarer sailed as Marine Engineer in Fleet Management ltd and Synergy Ship Management and later quit the sailing and started charitable services. Since he had tremendous knowledge on charity work, the committee members elected him as Chairman of the Indian Seafarers Welfare Organization.

Mr. N. Reuben Paul and Dr. A. Babu Mailan are the initial founder members of this organization and now they have complete maritime experts representing all the maritime bodies. The Indian Seafarers Welfare Organization (ISWOT) is working with one motto that to provide quality better seafarers welfare (better quality welfare to seafarers) in all Indian ports and at sea.

Shri. Ramdas Athawale expressed his happiness for the best practice of seafarers welfare maintained by various shipping companies and presented Best Seafarers Welfare ship Management Company awards to M/S Dynacom Tankers Management, M/S Scorpio Ship Management, M/S MSC Crewing Services Pvt Ltd, M/S V Ships, M/S BSM Ship Management Ltd, M/S K Line Ship Management Pvt Ltd, M/S Anglo Eastern Ship Management Pvt Ltd, M/S Zodiac Ship Management, M/S Maersk Tankersand M/S Fleet Management Ltd.

Also, Shri. Ramdas Athawale presented  best seafarers welfare performance award to Shri. Janardan, Assistant General Manager of Fleet Management Ltd for his services to Indian seafarers in capacity of Vice- Chairman, Indian Seafarers Welfare Organization (ISWOT).

About Editor News

Check Also

Hamburg Süd Strengthens Product Portfolio in South America West Coast Trade

Chennai: Port Wings News Network: The trade between Europe and Central America, Caribbean and South …

Leave a Reply